Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Whopper vs. Wheatbread sandwich December 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — beansandyoga @ 6:41 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

wheat-bread-12-08Junk food is all around us.  It’s convenient, and if we’re used to eating it, we probably crave it.  Eating healthy doesn’t have to mean eating tofu or tasteless food.

In my case, I was highly motivated to minimize junk food because of the food comas I’d have after eating it.  Sometimes, it wasn’t even “junk” food that made me sleepy.  In college, headed to morning classes, I’d be awake and feeling fine until I ate a muffin, then find myself overcome with sleepiness.  One time, after drinking a cola while studying for an exam, I fell into such a deep sleep that a friend was unable to wake me. I slept, deeply, for several hours.

Needless to say, it couldn’t go on.

Here are a few things that helped.

  • Drink lots of water.
  • Focus on what you WANT to eat, not on what you “shouldn’t.”
  • Stop reading labels.
  • Stop eating food that comes with a label.
  • Eat fresh produce instead or make it yourself.
  • Even a little change has impact.  If it’s one healthy food for breakfast, and that’s it, give yourself credit.  It’s a start. At some point, you’ll realize that you’re ready for one healthy item at breakfast AND lunch, and before you know it, the healthy will outweigh the junk food.
  • Fresh produce is only yummy if it’s been grown with care.  Forget tasteless supermarket tomatoes.  Sure, organic is sometimes more expensive (not always!).  Just buy one item at a time, then, and make it a treat.  After a while, you’ll start to crave the fresh taste.  And about expense?  For me, I started being less hungry, so I spent less.
  • Try free-range chicken and free-range eggs.  When I was in my teens, I began to notice that chicken no longer tasted the way it used to.  I stopped eating it.  Every once in a while, I’d be stuck.  It would be the only thing available.  A couple of those moments must have involved free-range chicken because I began to notice a difference in taste; and in the way I felt after I ate it.
  • Organic milk lasts 2 weeks longer in my fridge than other milk.  The “Got Milk” campaign is accurate in my house.  If I don’t have it, I want it.  But when I had non-organic milk, I wasn’t able to drink it quickly enough to get through it before it went bad.  I threw out carton after carton of milk.  Even small cartons!  But organic milk lasts longer, I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s just for me!  So, even though it’s more expensive per carton, I don’t waste it, so the cost goes down.
  • I still eat chocolate everyday.
  • I still eat freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, sometimes everday for weeks!
  • I still eat as much ice cream as I want.  I never limit myself.  The strange thing?  Once I started eating healthier, I didn’t crave ice cream as much as I used to.  My ice cream intake has gone down about 90 percent and I don’t even miss it.  Weird, I know.
 

One Response to “Whopper vs. Wheatbread sandwich”

  1. robyn Says:

    I find this story/article the most interesting so far because it recalls to mind what we-over-40s remember about a learning process — (college eating) — that we may have forgotten. Tracing a path through adult eating and responses to diet is important to revisit. Thank you for posting this.


Leave a Reply

