Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

The Reluctant Cook December 29, 2008

Filed under: Easy food prep — beansandyoga @ 9:30 am
Tags: , ,

reluctant-chef1 So many of my friends say they don’t know how to cook.  It’s no surprise.  They don’t spend a lot of time at home.  It’s easy to rely on restaurants or take-out.  When keeping a busy schedule, it can be hard to find time to grocery shop, much less cook.

For many of us, our moms also worked outside of the home, so we rarely spent time in the kitchen, learning the ropes as we grew up.  Here’s how I learned.

I’d think of something I was hungry for. I’d go through my cookbooks until I found  recipe that seemed simple enough for me to handle.  Then, I’d go to the store and buy all of the ingredients for it.

Did some recipes not quite turn out? Sure!  But that ‘s what cooking is all about.  Most of the time, I ended up with a rewarding dish that made the risk worthwhile.  Food is more forgiving than you might think.  It’s not like you’re cooking for a show.  Give yourself room to make mistakes. Chances are, it will simply lead you to a more interesting way of cooking.

What about pots, pans, knives, etc? To this day, I rely on just two knives.  One is a small paring knife.  The other is a bread knife.  One big soup pot and one mid-sized frying pan are my other two staples.  I really don’t need much more.

 

Leave a Reply

