Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Back to Work – Easy Lunches January 5, 2009

Filed under: Easy food prep,Energy — beansandyoga @ 7:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

easy-work-lunch-0105092

One of the easiest ways I’ve found to make lunch for work is to “build my own soup.” I mix frozen vegetables with a basic soup.  It’s easy to carry, and I can keep it in either the fridge or the freezer.  When I’m ready to eat, I pop it into the microwave.  I’m not a fan of microwaving in plastic, so I do keep a few dishes at work.  I find that if I have a bowl and plate, then I can put the plate on top of the bowl to prevent splattering inside the microwave.

If I know that I have to make enough lunches for a week, I make four at a time.  I keep mine in the freezer, and grab a new one each morning.

Why build my own soup rather than take a can of pre-made soup?  I find that canned soup vegetables are mushy.  This way, the vegetables seem fresher.  This also allows me to be more in sync with what I really feel like having.  If I have options in the freezer, I can add them as I like.  It costs less than buying separate cans of soup.  I can add as much protein as I like, which helps keep me full through the afternoon.  And to be honest, I get tired of the standard flavors.

Crackers?  Easy enough to keep a box at work.

BUILD YOUR OWN SOUP

1 32 oz. package of soup  (I like Trader Joe’s Organic Creamy Tomato)

1/4 – 1/2 cup frozen vegetables, such as corn, green beans, kale, carrots or sweet potatoes

Salt and pepper to taste

Optional additions:

  • Shredded rotisserie chicken (Shred into pieces and freeze, then use as needed.)
  • Sliced sausage
  • Cooked black beans (Beans are also easy to freeze.  Spread on a tray, then once frozen, switch them to the container of your choice.  This way, they are available as needed, rather than having to use a whole batch at once.)
  • Slices of roast beef or steak
  • 1/4 cup of cooked rice or noodles  (If you don’t like to make your own rice, it’s often available in the frozen foods section at Trader Joe’s.  I make a big batch and freeze it into small containers that last me a few days at a time.)

Container: 1& 3/4 cup/14 oz. Glad or Ziploc bowl

 

Leave a Reply

