Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

What I’m eating now – Dark Chocolate Pudding February 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized,What I'm eating now — beansandyoga @ 11:39 pm
Tags: , , , ,

One of my favorites.  Easy, fast, simple.

DARK CHOCOLATE PUDDING

3 tablespoons cornstarch

3 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (I use cocoa from Penzey’s Spices.)

2 cups milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Prep time: 10 minutes

In a saucepan, thoroughly combine the cornstarch, sugar, and cocoa.  Add the milk and stir until very smooth.  Cook on medium heat, stirring constantly, until the pudding comes to a boil.  Lower the heat and gently simmer, stirring continuously, for 3 or 4 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Stir in the vanilla, pour the hot pudding into a decorative serving bowl or individual custard cups, and serve warm or chill for about 2 hours, until cold and set.

Using skim milk, per 4.50 oz. serving: 4.4 g protein, .8 g fat, .4 g saturated fatty acids, 0 g polyunsaturated fatty acids, .1 g monounsaturated fatty acids

I really don’t like reading labels, but in case you’re in the habit, I wanted to show how innocent this recipe is, despite the fact that it’s a dessert.

Recipe and nutrition info from, “Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites” by the Moosewood Collective

 

One Response to “What I’m eating now – Dark Chocolate Pudding”

  1. Oh my god, that sounds fantastic. Gonna see if I can talk my wife into buying some corn starch and making me some. Yum.


Leave a Reply

