Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Satisfying Store-Bought Pizza Dough April 9, 2009

Filed under: Easy food prep — beansandyoga @ 1:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The thought of making home-made pizza has always intimidated me.  First, it requires making one part in advance; the pizza dough.  Second, I don’t do well with flour.  I am not a baker.  Third, the mixing and kneading of the dough messes up my kitchen to the extent that I don’t even want to begin.

I noticed, however, that Trader Joe’s has ready-made pizza dough.  They offer white or wheat flour dough, and an herb spiced white flour option.  They also sell pizza sauce by the jar.  And shredded cheese.  Before I knew it, I was taking a freshly baked pizza out of my own oven.  Scrumptious!

If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s nearby, check the refrigerated section of your grocery store, or ask at your favorite pizza joint.

Once I had the dough at home, I experimented with using all of it at once, and smaller portions.  It’s pretty forgiving.  It can sit in the fridge for a few days, or go into the freezer.  All I needed to do was apply a little flour to my hands and baking sheet, then work the dough until it was flat.  I do this by hand.

I set the oven to 425, then add the sauce, and whatever toppings I have on hand.  Lately, I’ve been using fresh, sliced mushrooms and green pepper.  I can’t wait to try artichoke hearts, olives, and fresh tomatoes.

Topped with a four-cheese blend, or mozzarella, the pizza cooks in minutes.  Fast, easy and healthy, I couldn’t be happier.

 

Leave a Reply

