Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Sun, fun and water bottles June 14, 2009

Sigg Water Bottles

Water is amazingly overlooked as a key to health and beauty.  Some people don’t like the taste of plain water.  I love it.

I keep water at my desk.  I used to carry a 24-pack of water bottles in the trunk of my car.  Any time I was thirsty as I was running errands, there it was.  I don’t do that anymore, because I’ve finally transitioned to reusable water bottles.  The point is, if it’s always in front of you, you’re bound to drink more of it.

Drinking water throughout the day keeps me refreshed.  Caffeine and sugar drinks make me feel fatigued after a while.  There comes a point where my body says, ” Enough with the chemicals, already!  Give me what I REALLY need!”

Now, I have several water bottles that I keep filled and by the door.  It saves money because I’m less likely to stop and buy something to drink while I’m out.  That also saves me time.  And, it’s good for the environment.

If you don’t like the taste of water, try adding the following.  Maybe even keep a pitcher in your fridge, so that it’s on hand when you want it.

Water Add-ins:

  • Slices of cucumber
  • Citrus wedges of lemon, lime or orange
  • Herbal tea such as mint, spearmint, berry or hibiscus.
 

2 Responses to “Sun, fun and water bottles”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I love your blog – I found it as Julie D had linked to it. You have some really great recipes in here and I will be back. You might want to do some research on drinking from plastic bottles – especially if the plastic gets hot. I am a mechanical engineer, and I have always been suspicious of the chemicals in plastic anyway. There are links to breast cancer – and the pthalates leaching from the bottles that you can reuse are not good at all – they mimic estrogen. Just a thought you might want to look into it. All the best. K

    http://enzyme-health.blogspot.com/2009/04/plastic-water-bottle-safety-and-dioxin.html

    http://www.snopes.com/medical/toxins/plasticbottles.asp

  2. beansandyoga Says:

    Hi Kathryn,

    Thanks for the kind words! Great info on the plastic bottles. The ones pictured are by Sigg, and are usually metal. But you’re right, a lot of reusable bottles are still plastic.


Leave a Reply

