Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Baby Steps, Big Breakthroughs October 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — beansandyoga @ 5:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

I made an amazing discovery this week.  I experimented with going a week without a particular food that I suspected was causing me trouble.  Often, but not always, I’d become incredibly drowsy after eating it.

“Why not try going without it for a week?” I thought.

The results are far greater than I’d hoped.  Suddenly, I’m not nearly so tired.  I wake up in the morning feeling refreshed.  I used to have to drag myself out of bed, after having slept far longer than I’d like to admit.  I used to have to eat every two hours.  If I didn’t, I began to feel faint.  Since I’ve cut this food out of my diet, the energy spikes have disappeared.  I used to feel thirsty all the time.  Now, I’m okay.  I still drink a lot of water, but I’m not desperately thirsty the way I usually am.

The weird thing is that the symptoms of being allergic to this food don’t include any of the above.  And I don’t have the symptoms that are typically listed with it.  I still don’t know if I’m allergic to it, or if it just makes my blood sugar spike.

Because everyone’s body is different, and because I don’t want to tempt anyone to think this food might impact them in this way, I am not going to say what food it was.

I will, however, encourage you to listen to your bodies.  Pay attention to how different foods make you feel.  Don’t stubbornly insist on eating the same things just because that’s all you’ve ever done.  Explore.  Try new foods.  Figure out what works and what doesn’t.  You CAN have a healthy body with low-maintenance food.  Just pay attention and make note of what works and what doesn’t.  Good luck!

 

Leave a Reply

