Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Expression via Homemade Ice Cream January 4, 2010

Filed under: What I'm eating now — beansandyoga @ 7:19 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m a big fan of ice cream.  I go through a quart every two weeks or so.  This year, I was presented with an ice cream maker.  Delight!

Here’s what I’ve discovered so far.  I like custard style (with eggs) better than Philadelphia style (without eggs).  Having long been in the habit of freezing bananas, I’ve found that they’re also perfect for ice cream.  The flavor intensifies, but they still taste fresh.

A few walnuts from the stash I keep on hand for oatmeal.  Grated chocolate from my Christmas stocking.  Voila!  Something very much akin to Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey.

I can’t wait to try an Almond Joy inspired batch, then strawberry/banana/chocolate chip, and then vanilla with butterscotch/caramel sauce and salty, crushed cashews!

 

Leave a Reply

