Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

How to pack a salad for lunch August 21, 2010

Filed under: Easy food prep,What I'm eating now — beansandyoga @ 1:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I love a salad for lunch in the summer time.  It took some trial and error, but now my lunches get looks of envy.

“Is that Balsamic dressing? I’m going to make a salad just like that when I get home!” said a co-worker yesterday.

Make a salad well, and you’ll have the best lunch in the room.  Combine things too soon, however, and you’ll have nothing but green mush.

Here’s what I’ve learned.

1.  Pack the salad dressing separate from the salad.

2. Add the salad dressing immediately before eating.

3. Undressed salads, complete with meat, carrots, nuts, and other fruits and veggies will keep very well in a plastic container for about 24 hours.

4.  A few slices of roasted meat go a long way toward keeping me full and energized for the afternoon.

5. Dried cranberries or raisins add a snap, helping to round out the flavors.

6. Other typical ingredients I use: Romaine lettuce, sliced carrots, sliced apple, sliced raw zucchini, jicama, sugar pea pods, pears, raw unsalted nuts and crumbled goat cheese. (Avoid highly citrus or juicy fruits such as pineapple, as they may cause your lettuce to spoil.)

7.  I keep a salad spinner of washed, torn Romaine lettuce in my refrigerator.  When I’m ready to make a salad, I simply grab and go.

8.  I keep all the other ingredients together, as I rarely go through an entire apple or carrot for one lunch’s salad.

9. I prepare the UNDRESSED salad the night before.  Stored in a one-serving container, I keep it refrigerated until I leave for work the next day.

10.  By lunch time, the salad is still fresh and crisp.  Rather than bring a whole bottle of dressing to work, I bring one serving at a time in a small, plastic container.

 

Leave a Reply

