Beansandyoga

Practical, healthful eating and living.

Calories vs. Nutrition January 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — beansandyoga @ 9:44 am

Nutrition, long forgotten, is making a come back.  Left in the dust by meaningless calorie counting, nutrition waited quietly in the background as people became distracted with calories, neglected to feed themselves well, got sick, then became dependent on prescription drugs.  A sad cycle.

This past year, nutrition finally began to get the attention it deserves.  Michael Pollan’s book, “In Defense of Food,” released age old secrets on how to eat healthfully.  Life Time Fitness has started RevolutionaryAct. com, offering 101 revolutionary ways to be healthy.

As for myself, I continue to cook most of my own food.  I continue to pursue exercise in a form that’s fun and engaging, to the point I forget I’m working out. Why? Because working out CAN be entertaining.  You won’t catch me on a treadmill, no.  You WILL catch me on a bike trail outdoors, cross-country skiing, or in a yoga class.

The benefits? I feel good.  I’m still a size 2.  I break away from computers/media while working out, which allows me to hear my own thoughts.  An hour a day of connecting with how I’m feeling emotionally is a great deterrent to depression or seasonal affective disorder. (I live in a winter-dark climate.)

So pick a starting point and see what happens if it become a habit! Here are some ideas:

  • Take a 20-minute walk outdoors at least once a week.
  • Unplug from media, cell phones, computers etc. for 30 minutes each day.
  • Start carrying strategic snacks with you, like almonds, dried apricots and chocolate.  (Yes, I consider chocolate a health food.)
  • Buy fresh fruit in season, when it tastes good and prices are down.  I find that apples and oranges sold individually are generally of better quality than pre-packaged bags.
  • Pick up one new fruit or vegetable to try each time you shop.
  • Put nutrition first!
  • Quit counting calories.
  • Go for food in its natural, unprocessed form.
 

Leave a Reply

